The last day

pwp-last-lunch1Yesterday was my last day of work.

I have had mixed feelings about losing my job.  On one hand, I was glad that I had had a fantastic holiday before I got the news.   On another hand, I was a bit upset about the timing of it all.  There normally isn’t much work available this time of the year and I don’t want to get stressed out about it.  Then again, I was a bit angry about the whole situation.  I think my boss could have chosen a better moment  to tell us we were going to be unemployed.  I know he wasn’t happy about what he felt he had to do and it took me awhile to get my head around the whole situation.

And now, I feel relieved.  I have never had to work out my notice before.  It was a challenge going into the office every day.  The motivation just disappeared.   I think we were all in shock.

I am really looking forward to having a little time off and trying to find the right job.  What the right job is, well, I don’t really know.  We’ll just have to see.  The right thing always comes at the right time.

Anyway, the boss took us out to lunch yesterday.  We went to Babylon, at Kensington Roof Gardens.  I hadn’t been there for over 20 years.  I’d been there a few times when Richard Branson first bought the place.  I would go with Joan, his then girlfriend (now Mrs.), for lunch and we would drink Champagne by the glass.  Can’t remember what the food was like, but I do remember drinking Champagne.  I had also been there for a wedding reception a few years later.  There had been some issues about the hors d’oeuvres, mainly the lack of.

The restaurant has recently been re-vamped and only re-opened this week.  The colour scheme is white, green and brown and there is an open and airy feel to the place.  The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food and wine was excellent.  I have a particular issue about the ladies room though.  There is a big fish tank that separates the ladies’ from the men’s room.  Unfortunately, when I was washing my hands, I could also see through the fish tank – with no fish – into the urinals.  Not something I want to see after having a three course meal.  Otherwise, the lunch was a big success.  Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.  I am sure that the alcohol helped.  I was mildly tipsy when I said my goodbyes.

So, here we are again at another new beginning.  Life is just getting more interesting each day.  Will keep you posted.

