Connections, Reflections and the Internet

Since I started my blog, a friend of mine suggested that I join Facebook to promote it.

I have been avoiding joining Facebook as it is something my children have been quite involved in.  In any event, I threw caution to the wind and went for it.  Little did I know what I was getting myself into.

Setting up my page and account profile was almost as fun as setting up the blog.  What to put on it?  Who to invite? Tricky.

My daughter wasn’t sure if she wanted to be my friend.  We have a definite mother/daughter relationship.  I am her mother, she is not my friend.  We like it like that.  She doesn’t want me to know certain things.  I can understand that – besides, if I want to know something – I just ask.  There isn’t a lot I don’t know.  In any event, my daughter has agreed to be my friend and I promised not to look at her profile.  She thinks it’s quite funny.  Kids!

Since I’ve been on Facebook I found two old friends and I am now friends with my nieces.  They all live in the USA.  It is strange becoming friends with old friends and family.

The internet is a wonderful thing.  I have reconnected with someone who I have been searching for over twenty years.  The sheer joy and other emotions connected to this discovery is more than I can describe – and it is all down to the internet.

I have been officially unemployed for a week now.  I haven’t been idle.  I have signed on with three new agencies and trawled the job sites on the internet.  I have posted my CV left, right and center.  I’ve had a couple of lie-ins, a bit of culture, and I’ve signed on for unemployment benefit.  Every little bit helps – I haven’t done that before.

I have been catching up on housework, writing and finding time for reflection.  I have been asking myself questions:  What do I want to do with my life?  How do I move forward?  When am I going to win the lottery?  I have put these questions to the Universe and am now waiting for the answers – especially to the last question.

So while I am waiting for the Universe to send me more of what I already have – I will trawl the internet for work, post my CV, write, reflect and make connections.

