Thanksgiving 2008

Standard

The Thanksgiving Holiday is upon us.  This hasn’t been a holiday that I have celebrated much in my 20+ years of living in the UK.  The British don’t celebrate any form of Thanksgiving that I know of.  They have Bank Holidays instead.  Even Christmas becomes a Bank Holiday – if it falls on the weekend!

Thanksgiving is a holiday in America that is celebrated by people of all religions and cultures – it is a National Holiday that falls on the last Thursday of November.  Although it initially stems from the pilgrims giving thanks to the Indians for helping them survive their first winter in a new world, it has come to mean something else for most people.

It is a time when people try to be together with their family – and if that isn’t possible, to be with friends – and share a large meal – to be grateful and give thanks for what one has.  Well, that is the idea!

This year, I will be celebrating Thanksgiving on Saturday with some very dear friends.  I am very grateful to have these good friends in my life.  They are part of a very small handful of people who have known me before I moved to London.  They’re my family.

Being grateful – that is a big issue for some people.  In this current economic climate, with redundancies, mortgage and property issues, there are people who would have difficulty  finding anything to be grateful for.

Take a look around you and see what you have and what you can do.  You would be surprised what you could be grateful for – and by being grateful for even the small things, I believe that will allow the bigger things to come into your life.

Here is how I sometimes start my morning:  I wake up – I’m still alive, the alarm goes off – I can still hear, I still have my sense of smell, I can still see, I have a warm bed, I get out of bed – I can still move my body.  Get the picture?  If you can do those things, you are better off than a lot of people.

I have food to eat, and a roof over my head – I have a car (use of public transport) and some money in the bank – I have skills that enable me to work – I have great kids and great friends – I can dance and I have a sense of humour – I have access to the internet!  The list just goes on.

So, what are you grateful for?  You will find there is more to be grateful for than you anticipated.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

Comments are closed.