Help, I’m stuck to my computer! (A Blogger’s Lament)

Having recently been on an emotional rollercoaster, I have knuckled down to my latest projects – working on my blogs.

I am actually sitting at a cafe at 9:30 in the morning!  I am showered and dressed. No big deal you might think, but it is.  You see, since I’ve set up my blogs, I have been a woman on a mission.  I have been obsessed.  The amount of work that it takes to set up a blog is incredible if you want to do it right.  I do.  I am a perfectionist and a control freak.  I am an editor extraordinaire.  I have been stuck to my computer for the last week and only ventured out to buy food, do some banking, go dancing, and show my face at the job centre (I killed a few birds with one stone that day as I had lunch with a friend and did some Christmas shopping too).

I also have no central heating, since last Christmas.  My plumber disconnected it two weeks before Christmas for my personal safety.  He was surprised that I hadn’t died in my sleep!  So I bought electric heaters.  I am still paying for the electricity bill from that time of year!  At the moment there is only myself in the house and my bedroom is the easiest room to keep warm.  The electricity usage rules are going to be strictly enforced when the children descend upon me for the holidays.  My house is NOT a hotel, although they like to think so.

Since it is so cold, my bed has been my office.  I switch my laptop on before I make my coffee.  Once I’ve checked all of my e-mails and sent off CV’s, it’s lunchtime!  Why shower if you are working in bed all day? (a tip for saving water) The housework can wait – it is too darn cold – and it is only me at home since The Lodger has gone.  I’m on a budget since I’ve been made redundant.  It galls me to pay £2.50 for a cup of soya latte as I already have coffee at home.  But I need to be around people.  You never know who you might meet and the Universe works in mysterious ways.  I could meet the man of my dreams.  I could get a new job.  One never knows and one would never find out if one is stuck in the house all day.  At least if  I am out and typing on my computer, people might think I am actually doing something really important.  I’m freelance!

Speaking about the Universe working in mysterious ways – when I was working full-time, I told a friend that I didn’t have much time to write as I used to be so tired from work.  I had so much stuff in my head, but couldn’t be asked to get it out onto paper.  Well, the Universe listened.  I have all the time in the world to write now – be careful what you ask for as you will surely get it.  I think I also needed an audience to write for – I am not really a secret diary girl.  Writing is such a solitary thing to do anyway (like playing Gameboy), and after all of the time and effort into producing something, it would be nice if someone would read it.  Now I finally understand what an old boyfriend (an artist) meant when he said that he wanted to contribute something to society and that he wanted to be remembered.  I just thought that was ego – and some of it is, but if you are going to spend a huge amount of time away from people in order to produce something, the least they could do is acknowledge what you are doing in some way.   In my case, READ MY BLOG(S), PLEASE.

Now the blog is up and running, I am more inclined to put pen to paper, so to speak.  I just type everything on the computer – unless I don’t have access to it.  But it got out of control.  One blog lead to another – and I already have another one in my head for the future.  I am going to end up being a three blog girl!  Having this time off has provided me with the means to set these things up so that when I am finally ready to do my dream job (and set up my third blog site) – I won’t have to work so hard at blogging!

And trust me – there is a lot of hard work that is put into setting these things up if you want to do it correctly.  I have seen some incredible sites that are so professional looking that I thought they were websites that people had paid for.  Hence my delight when I realised that one could get a blog site for free!

As for the hard work – firstly, you need to decide what your blog is going to be about.  Then you need to find a blogging site.  Then there is the creative aspect (I liked this part, it was fun) of setting out the theme for your blog – uploading photos, setting up pages, what widgets to use (I actually know what one of these is now!), what links to add, etc.  Then one needs to type things to put on the blog that hopefully won’t bore people to tears.  To make a blog posting interesting you might add some pictures or videos.  Then, if you have useful information that you want to share, you may have to add links to other websites.  You may have to research information – the list goes on.  I learned a huge amount about setting up a blog that I didn’t know before – a lot of technical stuff.  (I might be able to add this to my CV!)  So, by the time your post is complete and you’ve viewed the final result – a whole day has flown by, it’s dark outside and you’re still in your PJ’s!  Well, that’s how it has been for me the last week.

A friend asked me about my week.  I told him to read my blogs and he could find out for himself.  “What are you doing now, Arlene?” “I’m working on my blogs!” (These conversations take place on Facebook.)  Another friend was concerned that I wouldn’t be out dancing if I am working on my blog. (He runs a Milonga!)  I told him that I will probably go out more in order to have something to write about!  I am a blogging reporter!  Another Tango friend hopes that I will keep it up and not let it slide like some other people that started these things.  Not a chance – I love doing it.  I am a networking blogger – I’m trying to find other sites to link my Tango blog to in order to promote it.

On these pages I talk about me; places I’ve been, people I’ve seen, things I’ve overheard, my opinions, me, me, me.  On my Tango blog, I provide useful information about the Tango scene in London (Tango is my passion!)  I also talk about my Tango week (me again) and other things about Tango.

So, now you know where I am – on the computer.  Send me an e-mail!  I’m busy blogging!

Living Will (from an e-mail sent to me)

Last night, my friend and I were sitting in the living room and I said to her, ‘I never want to live in a vegetative state, dependent on some machine and fluids from a bottle. If that ever happens, just pull the plug.’

She got up, unplugged the Computer, and threw out my wine.

She’s such a bitch…..

2 thoughts on “Help, I’m stuck to my computer! (A Blogger’s Lament)

  1. Oh, Dear. These blog things are addictive, aren’t they? I recall making the same wish (about having more time to write) last year. Well, my funding ran out, therefore I am not teaching and have all the time in the world to write my dissertation.

    I keep a pretty consistent schedule, but I’d rather be working on my latest screenplay and fantasize about being a wildly successful writer someday. Plan B (the Ph.D. I am set to receive next May) is quickly becoming Plan O, as in the Only Plan.

    Blogs are supposed to have a theme? Uh-oh. I’m in trouble.

    Cheers!

    PS: Loved the humor at the close there. 🙂

    1. I just remembered that when I was in this unemployment position two years ago, I also spent a lot of time on the computer. I spent weeks selling books and CDs on E-bay that I no longer needed and made £250 profit! So, who knows what will happen this time!

      At least you have a plan!

Comments are closed.