Springtime at the Seaside

Standard

eastbourne11I recently spent five days visiting my amor down in Eastbourne.  He had been on holiday, and as I didn’t have anything to keep me in London (I can look for work on the internet anywhere I am.), I packed for a month to spend a few days by the seaside on his return.  Except for winter gales, I have so far experienced a wide range of weather conditions, and I still love it down there.  I was left to my own devices for a couple of days while he was at work and I had the opportunity to explore at my leisure.

The photos above were taken last Thursday.  It started out a little hazy, but it soon cleared up and turned into a gloriously warm day.  I spent the best part of the afternoon sitting on the beach writing and contemplating the meaning of life while listening to the tide gently coming in.  I pretty much stuck to the downs (or Meads) end of town.

eastbourne21These photos were taken on Friday at the other end of town.  The other end of town is perhaps a little older and shabbier and I love it as much as the ‘smarter’ end of town.  I have never seen so much wrought iron in one town before.  The ironwork is really beautiful and gives the place a lot of charm and character.  I couldn’t help but take a photo of the ‘icon’ shop.  I would have taken more pictures, but it was actually a bit rainy that day and I didn’t want to ruin my camera.  It was a good day to go shopping.

eastbourne-090404On Saturday we retraced my route from Friday morning and carried on walking down towards Sovereign Harbour along the seafront.  Although the sky was overcast, it was mild and there were quite a few people out walking and cycling along the paths.  Eventually we turned around and walked all the way back to the other end of town.  By 1pm the sun had come out and burned off all of the mist and it turned yet again into another lovely day.

We had some coffee at the Meads end of town and decided to have a look at the new Towner Gallery nearby.  It had just opened the day before.  I will refrain from giving a critique here except to say that the space was pretty impressive (although there was nowhere to hang your bag in the loo) and apart from a few pieces that I thought were really lovely the rest of it was pretty pretentious.

There is a lovely view from the stairwell in The Towner Gallery of the International Lawn Tennis Center which hosts the International Women’s Open every year.  I believe that this year they will also be holding a Men’s Open tournament.

By the time we returned home, we had pretty much walked a complete circuit around the town.

eastbourne-0904052Sunday was another lovely day and we explored more of the Meads end of town.  We went into the Nigel Greaves Gallery which I had been into earlier in the week.  My amor was looking to buy some paintings for his new flat.  Apparently it was lethal for me to take him into Nigel’s gallery as there were many lovely paintings to choose from.  Eventually a piece was chosen and we celebrated by having an ice cream cone from the Favoloso Cafe (there is a photo of the cafe in the first collage at the top of the page).  We wandered around streets that we hadn’t been to before on the way home.  I just loved these cherry trees and this gorgeous Magnolia tree.

I can’t believe how quickly five days had passed.  I have heard that time flies when you are having fun.  How true that is.  I feel more at home in Eastbourne each time I visit, and although there are many streets to still explore,  the place no longer feels  so strange to me.

 

3 responses

  1. Have you ever considered free lance work as a travel writer (for the time being until something more stable comes along)?

    You are brilliant!

    • Hi Skye,

      Thanks and yes. I have a couple of friends that do that. Not as easy as it sounds but I am certainly looking into it! xx