Girl Talk: Blinc Mascara

Standard

I am always on the lookout for mascara that will make my eyelashes look long and luscious.  My brothers and my offspring have all inherited long eyelashes.  It hardly seems fair.  If there is any cosmetic I don’t go without it is mascara, and preferably waterproof.

Waterproof mascara is a must.  When dancing Salsa, Tango or Ceroc, it can get a bit hot and sweaty.  The last thing I need is to have panda eyes on my night out.  Also, I might cry when watching a film.  It is the only time I cry.  Or I might forget (or be too tired) to take my eye make-up off before going to bed.  There are many reasons to wear waterproof mascara.

The problem with waterproof mascara is that there are not many products on the market that will actually take it off very well, or they say they will take it off, but they don’t.  I have tried everything and the only products that I like are the products from Clinique (a bit pricey) or L’Oreal (half the size and half the price).  The only problem with them is that they can irritate your eyes and you need to wash your face afterwards as the products leave a residue.

While wandering around my local shops to check out the sales, I came across Blinc Mascara.  The shop was selling it for £25!  I hadn’t heard of this before, so I asked the sales girl what was so special about this mascara that it was worth £25.  The short version is that it creates a tube around your eyelashes and won’t come off unless you use very warm water.  Hmmm.  You can read about it on their website.  She gave me a sample to try.

I Googled Blinc Mascara when I got home.  It retails for £18 and if you shop around you can get it  from other websites for £15 with free delivery!   I thought it was a bit of a cheek for the shop to be selling it for £25.  In any event, I tried it.  The sample was a little tricky to use only as the wand was so short, otherwise, it went on fine.  I followed the instructions and was able to build up the mascara and end up with really lovely and long eyelashes – with no clumps.  It did not flake or smudge all day.  I tried the bedtime test.  I cleaned my face except for my eyes and went to bed.  When I woke up, my eyelashes were perfect – no smudges.  I could have gone to work like that, but I thought that might be a bit too lazy and I wanted to see if the product really did come off with warm water.  It did.  I wet a cotton pad with very warm water and held it to my eyes for half a minute.  When I wiped my eyes, I thought my eyelashes had come off.  There were these little tubes of mascara on the pad that had been around the lashes.  The product came off cleanly without using anything other than warm water.  I thought that was so cool.

I am a bit behind the times on all of these beauty products as I have stopped reading magazines, apart from when I go to the hairdressers or dentist.  I haven’t been this excited about a beauty product in years.  I will let you know how it holds up when I go on my next scuba diving holiday!

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.