Still Clearing the Clutter

Standard

My children have all left home and I am still clearing up after them.  How did that happen?

It took me a whole afternoon to clean and pack up the remains in my daughter’s room.  The room is pristine.  I don’t remember it ever looking like this.  The only piece of furniture in it is the bed.  The rest I gave away on FreeCycle.  There is a little boy in Hammersmith happy with a new desk, chair and lamp.

I love FreeCycle.  I have given away quite a few things that would have probably ended up at the tip – not because there was anything wrong with them, but because they weren’t worth selling on E-bay or they weren’t right for the charity shops.

My next task is my son’s room.  As far as I’m concerned, he had all summer to pack away his things.  He even came home this past weekend to celebrate his birthday with his friends and to collect some more clothes.  Whatever he left behind is getting put in boxes.   I have a feeling that there will be quite a few bin bags of rubbish as well.  I am not looking forward to going into his room.  When I go up there I think to myself, ‘Where the heck do I start?’  By the time I finish, I may be left with just an empty space.  My next door neighbour is taking the bed.  She is actually giving me money for it!

I better get started.  It looks like it might take awhile!

One response