Along the Promenade

Standard

After having spent a couple of weeks in London working my behind off during the week and dancing Argentine Tango on the weekends and catching up with friends, I am spending some time with Amor at the coast.

The weather has been unpredictable this past week.  It might start out gloriously sunny and by 3pm get cloudy and bucket with rain.  I have been fortunate to miss the deluges.  Yesterday was a bit cold, wet and grim weather wise, but we still went out to lunch to celebrate Amor’s birthday.  We had a view of the sea which was churning into the shore.  I always enjoy looking at the water regardless the weather, but it was great to look at it where we were dry and warm and eating lovely food.

Amor has been such a huge support to me recently.  I really don’t know what I would have done without him, so as a special birthday treat I am going to whisk him away for a few days.  A mini-break will do us the world of good.  In the meantime, I have been trying to make the most of the lovely weather we have been having.

Surprisingly, today was a clear and sunny day.  I am amazed at how mild it is for November.  I have been able to get away with wearing thick wool cardigans instead of a coat (except for when it rains!).  I wasn’t going to let the sunshine pass me by today so I put on my cardigan and went for a stroll along the promenade.

On my way to the promenade, I came across these mushrooms.  They weren’t there yesterday!  Apparently, this is a good time of year for picking mushrooms.  Unfortunately, I don’t know enough about wild mushrooms to be able to ‘harvest’ them for eating, but they look beautiful just the same.

Mushrooms

The town centre was busy with people, but fortunately the promenade was relatively quiet in comparison.   I wandered down towards Holywell.  I took my obligatory photo of The Pier.   The band stand is now opened up completely having been barricaded off throughout the summer for performances.  I just love the blue top of it!  The sun was warming me up nicely as I headed towards my favourite little patch of beach.  The water was calm and flat as a pancake.  I could smell the salt in the air.  Apart from the odd bird, seagull or frigate, there were no people on the beaches.  My patch was empty and I found a place to sit in the sun and dozed off listening to the gentle sound of the water lapping against the shore.  I eventually prised myself off my beach and wandered back towards The Pier.  There were a few people out in front of their little beach huts enjoying the sunshine and having cups of tea.  One man had the same idea as I had and was enjoying a little snooze in his deck chair.  What a pleasant way to spend an afternoon!

Eastbourne Nov 2009

I eventually ended up at Fusciardi’s Ice Cream Parlour and tried their soft vanilla ice cream.  It was yummy!  I may have to go back to Favoloso to try theirs again for comparison!  After my ice cream, I headed back home as the sun was starting to fade.  I had a wonderful afternoon.  The sea breeze certainly cleared the cobwebs in my head.

 

 

Comments are closed.