Exchange – At Last!

They say that moving house is one of the most stressful things that anyone can experience.  It is right up there along with D-I-V-O-R-C-E, bereavement, getting married and giving birth.  For me, moving house hasn’t been too much of a problem until recently.  Giving birth was a piece of cake in comparison, ditto getting married, divorce was tricky and stressful but worth it and although I have experienced the death of a loved one, I have not experienced the bereavement of anyone in my immediate family.  I have moved house many times, and I can honestly say that I have never experienced anything like this in my life so far.

I have had my house on the market for the last two years.  Unfortunately, my timing wasn’t very good in this instance.  As soon as I put my house up for sale, Northern Rock did it’s thing.  I saw my house drop in price considerably because of the recession.  It hardly seemed fair.  I was also at a disadvantage as my last partner had a hand in doing some work to the house that I couldn’t afford to complete.  To say he wasn’t the best builder is an understatement.  Live and learn.  One thing I had on my side was location, and a garage.  All I needed was a buyer with an imagination, and some money.  Fortunately, I was on a tracker mortgage and I saw the interest payments drop.  That helped my finances considerably since I was made redundant about a year after I put the house on the market.

I tried not to panic about finances while I was trying to sell the house and trying to find a job.  Somehow, things worked out and balanced themselves.  My house has been expensive to run, especially since my boiler packed in a couple of Christmases ago.  The kids having the storage heaters running 24 hours while they were home during the winter holidays didn’t help matters much.  When they weren’t around, I would only heat up my bedroom.  It is amazing what one can put up with when having to save money.  I could never understand why English people had such cold houses.  It’s because heating can be really expensive!  There is a reason why people own wool jumpers!

As I said earlier, I had to drop the price of my house considerably in order to attract the right buyer.  It is amazing what people would offer.  Don’t make me laugh I would tell my estate agent.  I have lived in my area for over 20 years.  I have had three properties in the area.  I know the value of my property.  I have a garage, and I am on the Park side of the road.  Get some serious people in and we can talk business.

I had a plan:  A)   I am going to be mortgage and debt free and have some money in the bank.  B)  I am going to make better use of my finances.  C)  I will buy somewhere with what is left over after my mortgage and debts are paid off.  That would give me enough to maybe buy a two bedroom flat in or near Richmond.  Then I met Amor!  Well, I can still do A,B and C, but I have had a change of plan as to where I am going to buy – somewhere along the coast maybe!

I can get a lot more for my money if I move to the coast.  As most of you know, I have been spending a considerable amount of time there.  I love the seaside.  I can buy a nice little house and maybe even a flat as an investment.  I have more options.  I love having options.

I finally had a reasonable offer in September.  The buyers wanted to move in at the end of October.  Great!  I was ready to go.  I had been packing and clearing my house for months.  Why hadn’t they scheduled a survey for three weeks?  Why are things taking so long?  I have to give notice at work!  I have to organise my movers!  I need to downsize big time!  I need to arrange storage!  I have to find a place to live!

Lawyers!  Especially trainee lawyers!  From the other side!  I was beginning to lose hope.  My estate agent was driving me crazy.  I was beginning to lose faith in my own lawyer.  Why was it I could get information that she wasn’t able to?  What did these people want?  Why were they dragging things out?

I gave my notice and I moved out at the end of October as originally planned even though I hadn’t exchanged.  Amor helped me pack and move.  I had been feeling poorly.  I don’t know what I would have done without him.  I was feeling hopeful that things would go according to plan.  They didn’t.  I kind of jumped the gun.  The Universe had other plans.  What was I supposed to do?  I just had to have some faith that things would work out, maybe a bit later than expected.

Things work out the way they are supposed to, not always the way we want them too.  I gave up control and focused on my health and allowed other people to care for me.  I looked for property.  I went on a little holiday.  While on holiday I got the news.  I have exchanged and have a completion date.  I am so relieved and so happy!  My life is going to change in ways that I have only imagined.  I guess there is going to be another new beginning.  I will keep you posted!

 

