Thanksgiving 2009

Standard

A lot has happened since my last Thanksgiving post and I still find I have a lot to be grateful for.  After all, the purpose of Thanksgiving is to give thanks and to celebrate with each other.  That and stuff your face with as much food as possible and watch the football (American!) match on TV!

As I live in the UK, there wasn’t really much of an incentive to celebrate the Thanksgiving Holiday.  People here go to work as normal on this day, so it is just another ordinary day.  With three children to look after, I really didn’t mind so much as it meant that I had one less thing to worry about with an already busy schedule.  However, the older I get, and the less time I spend with my family, the more nostalgic I become.  I miss the gathering of people, my family, the football (American!), the turkey and cranberry sauce. I miss the smell of the autumn leaves.  I miss The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and the sales the day after Thanksgiving.  I actually miss American accents.  It is the one holiday of the year that brings people together of all nationalities and religions.  One could say “Happy Thanksgiving!” to any person and not offend them.

As I mentioned earlier, a lot has happened since my last Thanksgiving post and I have a lot more to be grateful for than what I may be missing.

In no particular order, I am grateful…

I am alive and healthy – ditto for my family and friends.

For my children, I don’t know what I would do without them.  I love them.

I have the love of a good man.  He rocks my world!  I love him.

For my great friend, R.  She is one of a small handful of people who knew me before I moved to the UK and who lives here too.  She is my sister that I never had.  I love her.

For my cat, Tiger.  He is a lovely little beast, and so beautiful.  I love him too.

I found a job after many months of being unemployed.  That was a relief!

For the opportunity to work with some really lovely women.

I exchanged on my house and will be able to finally live by the seaside.  That was the biggest relief!

For all of the friends I have made through dance.  Some have been particularly inspiring!

Those are just a few of the things I am grateful for.  I won’t be doing a big Thanksgiving dinner this year, but I might make a roast chicken with stuffing and some of the trimmings!  I will be calling my family and some friends to wish them a Happy Thanksgiving, and to find out the results of the football (American!) match!

With that, I wish you all a very Happy Thanksgiving and hope you all have something to be grateful for!  Dig deep and be creative, I’m sure you can find something. 🙂

(By the way, Margaret and Helen have a very hilarious Thanksgiving Day message if anyone is interested!)

Comments are closed.