Snow in Eastbourne!

Standard

I have upgraded my little Fuji Finepix 5 mega pixl camera for a Canon 450D EOS.  I have always wanted a camera like this as I have a 35mm Canon EOS and I can use the two lenses from that on the new camera.  It is one of my Christmas presents to myself. 🙂  The whole kit with extras cost me only a little bit more than my 35mm over 15 years ago!  I got a deal.  My son gave me a lesson on how to use it.  He is excellent at explaining how to use the camera and it’s functions.  I asked him if I should take a photography course and he told me ‘no’ as he could teach me.  ‘Anything you want to know Mum, just ask me’, he said.  I guess all the money spent on his education was worth it!  (He has a degree in Media, Film and Photography) I only wish that I had as good retention as he does, as I only managed to retain about half of what he told me.  Maybe I will join a photography club.  A lot can be learned from one’s peers.  As can be imagined, I have been itching to try out my new toy and I got the chance this morning.

It snowed last night!  It was still snowing at 6:30 this morning!  Too dark and snowy to take photos.  I got up anyway, made coffee, threw on some warm clothes, and gave the cat his morning lovin.  Then I drove off to the beach.  I got there about 7:30 to catch the morning light.  Fortunately the roads were clear.  They were prepared for the snow it seems, unlike other areas in the UK.

The photos on this page are totally un-retouched as I just wanted to get them here as quickly as possible.  I tried different settings and lenses as the light was changing.    The light was amazing and it was very cold.  I haven’t been up to the beach that early in the morning, but it was worth it just to see the waves rolling in while the tide was out.  The contrast of a dark sky in the background over the sea, the light on the water, the brown shingle and white snow was breathtaking.  I know that I may not have totally captured it, but I did my best and you should get an idea of what it was like.  I hope you enjoy them.

6 responses

  1. Enjoyed looking at your pictures of Eastbourne Beach in the snow. I lived in Eastbourne in the seventies and retain fond memories of the town. I am correct in thinking the photos are looking towards King Edward Parade and the Italian Gardens near Meads ?.

    Keep taking pictures and I look forward to any more of Eastbourne and its environs which you may care to post.

    All the best for 2010.

    Kindest regards,

    James

    • Hello James and thanks for stopping by. You are correct. The photos are towards Meads and Holywell. Funnily enough, it is still snowing!
      All the best,
      Arlene

  2. I lived in Eastbourne until 1972 when myself, husband and children emigrated to Tasmania. My late husband Clive and I returned for a holiday in 1982 but I haven’t been back since. I was really interested in your pictures Arlene – I remember a really cold and snowy Christmas in 1970 and some roads were impassable but do not think there was snow on the beach.

    We are enjoying beautiful summer weather here in Tasmania – it doesn’t get as hot as the mainland although 30+ degrees are forecast for the weekend!

    • Hi Wendy,

      Well, unfortunately (or fortunately) the UK has had some extreme weather these last few weeks. I was away for 2 weeks in the sun and it is a bit of a shock to the system having all the snow. It does look lovely though. I might have a go walking to the shops today as the sun is trying to say hello.

      Lucky you having warm weather!
      All the best,
      A

  3. lovely photo’s well done for braving the cold to take them,hope there will be many more kind regards jane.

    • Thank you Jane. These were taken last year. So far the snow hasn’t stuck around, but there is still time! 🙂