Every Day Should be Valentine’s Day

Standard

Valentine’s Day is either welcomed or dreaded by some people.  I have friends that can’t stand the Hallmark hype and I can’t blame them.  If you have a significant other and you forget to even give a card, you are screwed.  If you are alone, you are made to feel like a loser, so you are screwed.

I have an Uncle whose birthday is on Valentine’s Day and I had an Uncle who died on Valentine’s Day.  Unforgettable.

I can’t remember the last time I celebrated Valentine’s Day with a partner.  It was obviously not that memorable, so what was the point?

Last year  I spent Valentine’s Day alone and then I went out dancing in the evening.  I laughed and danced with friends.  It was probably one of the best Valentine’s Days I have had.  At least it was memorable!

This year I have Amor.  He has to work and I don’t know when he will be home, so whatever plans I might have made may not go through.  That’s life sometimes.  I have plenty to do without him.  I am not unhappy.  He left me a card in my laptop, where he knew I would eventually find it!   There is a bottle of bubbly chilling in the fridge, which will eventually get opened.  I have something for him, and he will get it, eventually.  It will keep.  This day will be memorable for many reasons.

A friend of mine suggested that as Amor is working we could celebrate on another day, and she is right.  But then she got me thinking.  Since I have been involved with Amor, all of my time with him has been like Valentine’s Day.  Every time  I would visit him I would be treated like a queen.  I never had to lift a finger.  Not a harsh word was spoken, nor since.  It doesn’t mean that we don’t have disagreements because we do sometimes.  We just don’t argue.  We discuss things.   Sometimes we agree to disagree.

It is one thing to be treated like a queen on the weekends when visiting, but he still does even though I am sharing his space until I find a place of my own.  We still don’t argue.  Unbelievable, I know!  How do we do it you might ask?  The answer is pretty easy.  It is because we are grateful to have each other.  I feel lucky to have Amor in my life and he feels lucky to have me in his.  If this sounds a bit sickening to you then don’t read anymore because you probably won’t understand, but then maybe you might learn something.

Our lives should be lived each day anew.  Every day is a new beginning.  Having gratitude in our lives creates abundance and stops us from being complacent.  Having a significant other in our lives shouldn’t be taken for granted.  Having love in our lives is a gift and should be cherished.  Some people don’t realise what they have until they have lost it and by then it may be too late to ever find it again.

If you don’t have a significant other, then start loving and being kind to yourself.   That can mean anything from being selective about the people you become involved with, to making yourself healthy meals.  Be grateful for the small things in your life.   When one is truly happy and feels abundant, then abundance will come to you.  Just try not to have any expectations in how this abundance will manifest itself, as it will in ways you may have never dreamed.

Amor and I have lived over half of our lives already.  Our time left on this planet is precious, even if we might have another 20 years or so to go.  We have learned a lot from the past.  Who knows what will happen in the future?  Since we don’t know, don’t you think it is a good idea to live life the best we can and be kind and caring to those we choose to have in our lives while we are still able?  Whether it is with our parents, children, friends, lovers, partners or ourselves, we should treat every day as if it is Valentine’s Day.  No need to spend money on cards or chocolates or grand gestures, just smile and say ‘I love you and I am happy you are in my life.’

As the song goes ‘If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one your with.’  On that note, I am going to groom the cat and give him some of his favorite wet cat food!  🙂

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Comments are closed.