One Flew Out of the Cuckoo’s Nest

Standard

You know you are facing empty nest syndrome when one of your offspring actually moves out of the country.   How far out of the nest is that?   That is exactly what my eldest did on Wednesday.  Of my three children, he is the only one able to say he is going back to his roots, as he was born in L.A.  That probably explains his laid back attitude to life.  He is off to live with his dad for a while and will try to find some gainful employment in his chosen profession.

I am going to miss him very much as we get along so well.  It was bad enough that I sold my house and moved away from home, thus creating some distance between us, but I was able to visit him in London now and then.  However, having him move out of the country is another thing altogether.

Actually, I am very happy for him and think that being in L.A. with his dad will be a good thing for him.  He has managed to avoid getting his driving license all of these years, but now he will have to learn how to drive.  He might actually get out in the fresh air and sunshine!

I offered to give him a lift to the airport as I wanted to spend as much time with him as possible before he flew the coop.  I know I have only just spent the better part of a week cleaning and moving into my own new home and there was plenty more left to do, but I wanted to spend some time with him before he left as I didn’t know when I would next see him.  I was surprised to see how tidy the flat was.  Unfortunately it wasn’t for my benefit.  However, it was nice to see that my handiwork in the kitchen a few weeks earlier was more or less intact.  I wish I could say the same for the bathroom and so I got to work.  I am afraid that I can’t cook meals or bathe in areas that are not hygienic.   The flat that my children use when not at Uni belongs to their dad – the same one that lives in L.A.  At the very least, the children should keep the place tidy.  The boys have very low cleanliness standards compared to their sister and she usually ends of doing most of the work when she is around.  It seems to be a girl thing in our family.  I am hoping that will change and her remaining brother will help out more when he is around.

I got stuck into cleaning and doing laundry.  I wanted to make sure I had clean towels and sheets!  My son worked out what he what going to pack.  He entertained me over dinner.  He may not have helped much with the housework, but he regaled me with stories and we talked about many things over the next couple of days.  That young man is not short of anything to say.  Maybe he was living on his own too long.

Before we knew it the fateful morning had arrived.  We needed to be up at the crack of dawn to get to the airport in time for the flight.  Luckily, Terminal 1 was relatively empty and my son was checked-in very quickly.  We had time for breakfast and another chat before I left him to make his way to the departure lounge.

Although I was sad to see my son go, I was also happy that he would be in safe hands.   In a way, he is starting his own new beginning!   Hopefully he will find the job of his dreams.  At the very least, he will get his driving license! 🙂

Comments are closed.