Airbourne 2010 – Day 1

Standard

Today is the start of Airbourne 2010 – Eastbourne’s International Airshow.  I went for the first time last year when I was just visiting Amor.  Now that I live here, I can go every day.

I also got a new digital camera at Christmas and I wanted to try it out.  There is a function on it where I can take multiple shots, which is a huge improvement on my last camera.  Some of those planes fly so fast you could easily miss taking a photo of them.

I took over 1000 photos today!  I am going to try to make a few videos of the photos.  I was trying to do that earlier, but it was getting late and I wanted you all to at least see a little of something that I saw today.  The weather started out sunny and warm, but it became overcast for most of the afternoon from around 11:30am.  This meant that the planes had to keep their displays low and were not able to do some of their most dramatic displays.  The upside to this was that because they were in low,  I was able to get some really good photos.

I also made a new friend today, Nick, a retired policeman who restores old motorcycles!   He is 77 years young and still rides them!   We compared notes on our shots.  He had a new camera also.  It was nice to have someone to chat with on a lovely afternoon for a few hours.

The first plane flying past was the Eurofighter Typhoon. It was so fast and not very close, so I didn’t get any great photos.

The first to display were the Red Arrows.  They are The Royal Air Force Aerobatics Team and are considered to be one of the world’s premier aerobatic teams.

Next up was the Tutor TI.  This plane is used for Elementary Flying Training by the 14 University Squadrons and 12 Air Experience Flights throughout the UK.

Then we had The Blades.  The Blades are the UK’s only full-time civilian aerobatics team and all of the pilots are former Red Arrows.

Following The Blades came The Spitfire.

Next came The Tigers Parachute Display Team.   The team has over 20 years experience, and are highly recognised as one of the leading parachute display teams in the UK.

Then we had the F-16 Fighting Falcon.

Next up was The Battle of Britain Memorial Flight.  This consists of a Spitfire, Hurricane and Lancaster.  On Saturday, the 14th of August, there will be a re-enactment between the Spitfire and Buchon Messerschmitt 109 in an attack on a pleasure boat.  Not to be missed!

Then we had the Swift Glider Team.  They were quiet and stealthy.

Next came the P-51 Mustang.

After that came the RV-8tors.  I haven’t heard of them before, but they put on a good display.

And last, but not least, we had those crazy ladies, The Breitling Wingwalkers. (Last year they were the Guinot Wingwalkers.  Looks like they have a new sponsor!)  Apparently they are the world’s only formation wingwalking team.  Wouldn’t catch me up there!

That covered about 2.5 hours of flying.  There are other things to do if you are not interested in planes.  There are plenty of stalls to visit, there is live music, things for kids, etc.

I think tomorrow I will have a wander around this time and check out the activities, unless it is hot and sunny.  I have a spot picked out on the beach!

http://www.eastbourneairshow.com/

 

 

2 responses

    • @ Gary,

      Actually, the first picture IS of the Eurofighter Typhoon, which just went over on a fly by. It was piloted by flight Lieutenant Tim Clement. I have of other photos of this plane from last year and on the subsequent days of Airbourne 2010. The F16 that you refer to can see further down the page, and considering I photographed everything in sequence, with notes, is the only F16 left within the Belgian Air Component and has a new paint job called Vortex, which you can see below. The pilot is Michel Beulen.