Another Year in a Blog

Today is the second anniversary of my blog and the first year anniversary of moving down to Eastbourne.

So much has happened in the last year, yet there are times that I don’t think I have really done enough.  I wonder if anyone ever feels they can do enough?

This last year has been about nesting, building relationships, and being patient.

I finally sold my house in London after two years of it being on the market.  Selling my house was a big challenge due to the unfinished work that had been started in 2003.  I pretty much lived on a building site for about seven years.  When a buyer eventually came along, the process got dragged out to the point where I actually moved out of my property and quit my job three weeks before exchange finally took place.  That was pretty stressful, yet I still felt hopeful.  My cash flow situation was on the wire, but somehow money was there for the essentials.

I stayed with Amor until I found a place of my own.  It was lovely to be in a nice warm flat and I know the cat was very happy too.  Being me, I immediately signed up with the Job Centre and started looking for work.  Having a bit of deja-vu from the year before, I didn’t hold out much hope of finding a job that late in the year before Christmas.  Fortunately, they were pleasant at the Job Centre.   Through them I received help from outside sources to review my CV, and was able to sign up for some classes that could assist me in finding a job.

Considering there weren’t any jobs, looking for work seemed less of a priority than finding a home at that point.  Weighing up the pros and cons of owning a house or a flat was a job in itself as each have their own advantages and disadvantages.  I looked at so many houses and apartments.  As many apartment complexes here don’t allow pets, I eventually crossed those off of my list.  Tiger needed some outdoor space so I wouldn’t have to clean up after him everyday and so I could leave him on his own for a few days if I needed to.  He is basically free-range.

I found a house and after I did the survey I got gazumped!  Boy, was I peeved!  It is situations like this that make people hate estate agents in this country.  I hope it was worth the few extra thousand pounds that was offered.  So I went on holiday with a view to start looking again in the New Year.

I eventually purchased a house that I had seen before my holiday, but my offer had been turned down at that time.  I fell in love with it the first time I saw it.  The house is old and needs some updating, so I have spent most of the summer researching subcontractors and doing up the house and garden.  That has been my job.  Fortunately I have some experience in this.  The downside to doing this for yourself is that you are more fussy about counting the pennies and finding a really good deal.  People down here are not very speedy in providing estimates and such, so I have had to learn a lesson in patience.  By waiting, I have had the opportunity to consider what I really need and have changed my mind a few times about what I want for my home without being one of those annoying clients.  I have also been fortunate to get some really good referrals.  Most of the essential work is completed.  The rest is cosmetic.

The summer had been lovely in Eastbourne, so I spent a lot of time at the beach or walking along the seafront, in between dealing with contractors.  After the stresses and financial strains over the years, it was nice to have a break and take some time out for myself and family.  I never realised how just keeping things together the last seven years before  I sold my old house had taken its toll on me, and I am grateful to be in a position to have had the time to heal some more and create a foundation to rebuild my life again.  I have also been dancing and meeting a lot of people.

After being here a year, I feel that Eastbourne is now my town and that I have settled in.  The days are closing in again and all of the hard work is done on the house.  I feel that I am ready to start looking for work again.  I certainly have some time on my hands now!  Granted, it may not be a good time to start looking if the last two years have been any indication, but you never know!  In any event, there is always next year!

So stay tuned to see what happens next!  Thank you everyone who has commented and offered their support, I really appreciate it!  All the best! x

 

 

