A Moment in Time/Day 6: Frozen in Time

Standard

 

Frozen in Time

Taken with a Canon Power Shot SX200 on SCN Feature with Snow Setting and Macro.  I had to underexpose it in order to see anything on my screen.  The photo was taken at about 8:30 am with a fairly clear sky (overcast an hr later at time of posting!).  The picture still wasn’t right, so I used the Auto Contrast feature on Picasa 3 to sharpen it up.  Specs: 1/25s, f/3.4, ISO: 80

When I went to put the heating on in the living room, I noticed there was frost on the glass panels of the balcony.  I took quite a few pictures, but I really like this one as it sort of looks like a spider’s web.

Here is the same picture retouched in Auto Color, which is more the way it really looked, but I really like the blue effect one can get when taking photos of snow.  What do you think?

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

3 responses

  1. Yes, the blue conveys cold. Have you tried shining a light through the frost? Haven’t got it here at the moment, but I will try that when we do.

    • Thanks Chris. I was out on the balcony in my dressing gown! Too cold to think about shining a light, but will keep that in mind for next time!