A Moment in Time/Day 15: Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

Standard

 

Book or Kindle?

Taken with a Canon Power Shot SX200 IS on Indoor Mode under low light with no flash.  Specs: 1/3s, f/4.0, ISO: 320.

 

I wasn’t trying to get a great shot here, just didn’t have time today.  My son bought me a Kindle for Christmas.  I am glad he bought it for me as I would never have bought one for myself otherwise.

You see, I love books.  I love the look of them, the feel of them and the smell of them.  There are times I absolutely love being the first person to read the book in my hands, and other times I wonder about the people who have read a book that I have purchased  from a charity shop or second-hand bookstore.  I also love shopping for books.  When purchasing a new book I will go online to various sites to get the best bargain (cheapest).  I like looking at the books in the bookstore and looking through them.  It has been said that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but sometimes I do.  I will look at the cover and read the blurb.  It is usually the blurb that clinched the deal.

I have bought and sold so many books over the years.  When I am interested in learning about something, I will buy many books on the subject.  When I run out of space or I get tired of some of my books, (shocking, I know!) I will sell them on E-bay.  This way I create space for more books.  There are some books that I have regretted giving away  or lending to people (don’t always get them back), so I very rarely lend books these days.  I don’t mind recommending a book, but you will be hard pressed to get mine.  Go to the Library or purchase a copy yourself.  I am slowly replenishing my stock of books I regretted getting rid of.  It is so exciting opening the front door to the postman, or when I’ve been out, to see the little bundles of jiffy bags knowing my books are inside them.

I would love to have a library in my house where I could just sit and read, by the fire preferably.  There is a Library Room in The Cavendish Hotel where I sometimes go for coffee and read the paper.  My little office contains a desk and some book cases from Ikea.  I bought two extra sets of extensions as I have a high ceiling.  The shelves are almost all full, but that is because I have nowhere else to put my CD’s and DVD’s at the moment.  It isn’t quite a library, but close enough for now.  I actually have some books on my shelves that I haven’t finished reading, and some I haven’t even read.  Even so, I still bought some more books last week!  At least I always have something to look forward to when it comes to my books.

About 6 months ago I discovered e-books at The Book Depository.  They have thousands of free ones.  I uploaded a few onto my computer thinking I might read them.  Nope, it never happened.  I spend so much time in front of the computer, I don’t want to read a book off of it.  It isn’t very practical to take the laptop to bed to read an e-book.  I would rather read a real book in bed.  A friend of mine got an i-Pad and had some e-books on that.  I caught him reading when we were on holiday.  I brought three books with me and he had his one i-Pad.  Hmm!

So here I am with my Kindle and I am thinking I can upload these free e-books from my laptop and the next time I go travelling I will have something to read that doesn’t take up too much space and weight!  But it didn’t stop there.  I spent most of Boxing Day morning uploading free and obscure e-books off of Amazon and The Book Depository.  I stopped at about 60 some odd books that I would never purchase but seemed interesting, mainly classics.  I’ve even organised them all.  If I go on holiday with my Kindle, I will be forced to read these books as I won’t have anything else to read.  Who is really going to take some obsure Dickens on holiday?  People won’t know what you are reading!  Another reason to upload the free books is the cost of Kindle books on Amazon.  Many of these books cost the same as a paperback!  What cheek, considering the publishers already have the books in some computer format and don’t need to worry about printing costs!  Another upside to the free e-book is if I really don’t like it I won’t feel bad about deleting it off of the Kindle!

It is great to have choices and technology is a wonderful thing, but I really hope that they never, ever, replace books.

 

Comments are closed.