The Living Room

Standard

I am having a lazy day today and thought I would continue with the decorating theme I am a bit obsessed with at the moment.  Yesterday I talked about buying pink sofas for my sitting room and realised that I didn’t have any pictures of the way it looks now, so here we go.

 

Before: Bay Window

The ceilings in my Living Room are 9’4″, the highest in the house.  There are lovely original moldings on the ceiling and I am lucky to have a picture rail, which means that I can hang my paintings from there and not ruin the walls once the decorating has been done.  The pelmet on the window is pretty nasty and has been here for over 2o years.  All of the windows in the house have been replaced with engineered wood sash windows in keeping with the property, and because the old ones were aluminum and hideous and drafty.

 

Now: Bay Window

I took this photo this afternoon. It has been grey all day!  I had to tack up the net curtains for privacy!  You can see at the top of the photo that the new windows are slightly larger, which leaves no space to install a pelmet or curtain rail.  I’ve ordered tier on tier plantation shutters which should be here sometime in the new year.  I will be so happy to have some privacy!  You can also see that some paper has come off of the ceiling near the bay.  There is a lead roof there that used to have a very tiny outlet and it got blocked and leaked into the Living Room.  It was like this when I bought  the house and then I had a leak since I’ve been here.  I am leaving things as is until the decorators get around to it as I don’t want to damage the molding and there is a crack in the ceiling.

In the window is the new table I bought for a fiver that I am going to re-paint.  That is my little tree on top which will go in the spare bedroom next year.

I didn’t do much with the decorations this year.  I added to my Snowbaby collection! That’s it forever!  They may not come out next year!  My daughter bought the fabric for my Xmas stocking and I sewed it together!  I want to use those colours in my house.   The tiles in the fireplace are not as Turquoise as I thought they were.  They are more of a grey/blue, so the paint I have chosen for the walls will work very well.  The fireplace is a bit tatty, but it is a working open fireplace and once I have the inside mended and buy a grate, I can have a real fire as I had the chimneys swept.  I put a fake fire in front just for an extra boost as it can get a bit drafty in here.  I need to renew the molding where the stockings are hanging from and clean the hearth tiles up a bit.  I also need a cabinet to hide the TV!!!

A lovely view of the sofabed.  (76″ wide)  It is in front of the radiator as I have nowhere else to put it.  I know why people put rads on walls, but I wish they wouldn’t!  The new radiator is going to be a tall one on the left hand side of the bay window.  You can see my paint samples and where my painting used to be!  I moved it because the heating is on!  I need a really nice piece of furniture for that corner, preferably with some storage so I can put a lamp there and some photos of the kids.  I’m also going to have to get rid of my Ikea oak coffee table.  I just love the shape of it, but it really doesn’t go.  I am going to try to find a low round table to work with the new one I bought yesterday.

Here is a picture of the smaller sofa.  (66″ wide)  Tiger loves sleeping on fleece!   My new sofabed is going to be 64″ wide and the small sofa is going to be 59″ wide.  I will have more options on how to arrange the room.  I would also like to get a very small armchair with a footrest, but will see if I can get one second hand.  Something like the green one Vintage Vamp has in her living room would be ideal.  My new sofas arrive in about 8-9 weeks, so I will be selling these leather sofas.  I may have had them for 7 years, but they are in excellent condition and the sofabed has only been slept in a few times.  They are very comfy and like new!  Two people can easily slouch on the sofa to watch TV!  All offers are welcome!

Here is my chandelier!  I love it!  I got it at John Lewis.  There is no ceiling rose as when the light is on, it makes a fantastic pattern!  I just need to get a dimmer switch as this is a very bright light.  Too bright!

So that is my living room!  The whole house is pretty much painted this bland colour and has the same carpet throughout.  The house used to be rented out, so I guess it was easier to maintain this way.

Will update as things change.  Any suggestions are always welcome.

Comments are closed.