A Moment in Time/Day 26: New Table and Chairs

Standard

 

New Table and Chairs

This is not a great photo of the day, but it is a photo.  I have evolved my project.  I will take a photo every day and write about the picture.  It might be a great picture, or it may be blah.  Either way, it will be the topic of conversation and may relate to something I am currently working on or just because I found something interesting or lovely to photograph.  Today’s photo is merely a record (not a great one, sorry).  I still haven’t put away the Christmas decorations!  The only great thing about this picture is that my carpet looks really good, oh, and there is a cat in it!

This is the new table and chairs that I bought today.  OK, they are not new, but they are new to me.  I like to buy second-hand furniture if possible.  It is another way of recycling.  I love the shape of the table.  It is very plain and fits into the room perfectly.  It will be easy to sand down for repainting.  The top lifts off and leaves extend from either end.  The design is quite clever.  I don’t know when this table was made or what type of wood it is.  It could be from the 60’s or even later.

 

The chairs didn’t come with the table.   I found them in a different part of the store, but the shape of the chairs complement the table nicely and are comfortable to sit on.  (Tiger likes sitting under the chairs.) They have a curved spindle back.  These will be easy to sand down and paint also.  I will be looking for some fabric to cover the chairs and wouldn’t mind a second opinion on what colour to cover them in.  My gut feeling is to go with a green from the curtains.

These are the curtains I had made for the dining room.  It reminds me of deck chairs!  I do live by the seaside, remember!

They are pink, off-white, green (2 shades), and grey.  Do they look familiar?

 

Image Source - Traditional Home

I had the curtains made up before I saw this image.  My curtain fabric is similar, just a bit subdued in comparison.  The plan for the downstairs is to get rid of the carpet and paint all the floorboards white.  I ordered this carpet from Laura Ashley to put under the dining room table.  The pink and grey in the rug complement the curtains.  I also have a grey, silvered ceiling lamp.  The table and chairs will be painted white.   I am still working on the paint colours for the walls.  Decisions, decisions!

 

 

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.