Merry Christmas Message 2011

As 2011 draws to a close and we all get ready, or panic, for the holiday festivities, I would just like to pause and reflect.  There are many people who will not be enjoying the holiday celebrations and I would like you to send some kind thoughts to them.  And I am not talking about people who are just grumpy and don’t like Christmas or don’t get along with their families.

Take a minute of your time and tell someone out there that they are not forgotten.  (You can say it in your head)  It doesn’t have to be anyone specific, but I am sure that we all know someone who could benefit from some kind thought.   There are a lot of conflicts and injustices taking place out there in this big world of ours and many people are suffering.  A lot of them probably live near you.  Suffering doesn’t stop for the holidays.  What good will a thought do?  Well, thoughts become things as they are made of energy.  It is not a coincidence when you think about someone and you bump into them on the street or they call you.  If how you think can change your life, then what can your positive thought do for a complete and utter stranger?  Just something to think about.

Because others may be suffering, does this mean than I am not going to enjoy myself over the holidays or for the rest of my life?  Heck no.  Right now I feel particularly grateful that I am in good health and have loving people around me.  We can do a lot for others around us just by being pleasant and kind and having a smile on our face.  Try and be the kind of person that you would want to hang out with.  A brief, positive interaction with a stranger can make a world of difference, for you and/or for them.  Happiness and the pursuit of it is our right.  It is even written into the American Constitution. 🙂  Suffering is not a virtue.  It is a sure sign that something is not right in our world.

And for those of you who think that I don’t get grumpy, or angry or a little bit down sometimes, well, just ask my exes, or my kids.  I’m only human.  However, once I start listing all that I am grateful for, it cheers me right up as I realise how much I have in my life already.  This allows me to be more generous, maybe not so much with my money as I am not working full-time, but I can be generous with my time and a kind word if needed, and by taking stuff to the charity shop (they made a lot of money off of me in gift aid last year!).  And that is how I plan on making things better in my world.  It works for me.

I will be having a quiet Christmas and hopefully a boisterous New Year with a loved one.  My kids are with their Dad, so I might get to see them with Skype.  My parents really don’t do technology, so it will be a phone call, which is the next best thing to being there, but that was before Skype. 🙂

I want to thank all of you who have been reading my blog and hope you all have a wonderful holiday, whichever one you are celebrating.  And for all of you who are having difficulties, I hope that love and joy will find you.  All the best. xx

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas Message 2011

Comments are closed.