God is Talking!

I was raised in a religious manner.  I know, most people wouldn’t have ever guessed, but it is true.  It was a very strict religion – not great if you hate being told what to do.  I have an opinion about religion which I won’t go into here.  Well, I am a bit anti-religion, but I do have a spiritual belief.  I believe in Nature, a Universal Life Force, that there must be something out there bigger than us and that everything is inter-connected.  I think I might have made a very good Pagan.

One of the things I loved to do as a child (and still love to do) was to lie down on the ground and look at the clouds.  I love watching the clouds move in the sky and changing shapes.  It is as relaxing a thing to do as watching a fire, preferably in a fireplace.  Sometimes I can even watch the clouds from my bed with the curtains open!   Whenever I would see those big fluffy clouds with the sunbeams shining through, I would say that was God talking.  I have no idea where I got that from but other people seem to have the same idea.   I just Googled ‘God Talking’ and clicked on images and got stuff like this…


I took this while walking up towards Beachy Head.  (The Beachy Head Pub as a matter of fact – they do a great Sunday roast lunch!)  Sorry, I digress.  Isn’t this beautiful?  When you see the sky like this it can make one seem insignificant and make you believe that there is something much bigger out there.  I know it is just a bunch of clouds with the sun peeking through and I am sure there is some scientific name for this sort of thing, but I don’t care.  I just love when this happens.

If there is a God, this is what I think of when I see clouds like this.  I think God is talking.  It is time to pause and wonder and try and work out what it is he is trying to say.  Maybe he is just letting us know that he is there, even on a cloudy day!

Sometimes I also think that maybe aliens are coming, like in Close Encounters of the Third Kind, or that it could be some sort of portal to another world. Beam me up Scotty!   No, I really don’t believe that, but it would be a lot more interesting!

