Trying New Things – Getting My Abstract On!

Since I’ve come back from my travels, I have been trying to find time to paint.  This can be difficult as I have been working full-time and by the time I get home, there are so many other distractions. That is a poor excuse, but most of the time I am just really tired from staring at a computer screen all day long and is another reason I haven’t been blogging much.

When I first started trying to draw and paint, I didn’t have a full-time job and I had so little knowledge about doing anything that I think I actually painted more and was more adventurous.  Since then I have less free time and more information inside my head.

In the spirit of trying new things, I have been working on abstract painting.  I bought a book to help me release my inner abstract.  I bought Abstracts: 50 Inspirational Projects, by Rolina Van Vliet.  I really like her style of painting.  There is a lot of information about how to proceed with a project and making it your own.  The examples are there just to give you an idea of what she is talking about.  My ultimate goal is to be able to paint more loosely and in a more  impressionistic way.

This is my first one.

Acrylic on Paper - 4x6"
Acrylic on gessoed Paper – 4×6″

I actually like this now.  This is the result of scraping the paint off of the paper as I wasn’t happy with the way it turned out.  I have been working on smallish pieces on paper partly because I have a shed load of paper I need to use, and partly I don’t want to end up throwing canvases away if the project doesn’t turn out well.

This is what I did with the leftover paint that I scraped off of the first painting.

Acrylic on Gessoed Paper - 9x12"
Acrylic on gessoed Paper – 9×12″

I realise that my brushstrokes are one-directional and is something I need to work on.  I also did a bit of scraping with this one.  It almost looks like marbled paper.  Not a bad first try.

Have any of you tried something new recently that you enjoyed or not?

 

 

