Inspiration from the Sea

Standard

Some of you may know that I am a scuba diver and you might find some photos of my diving experiences on this blog somewhere.  The underwater landscape can be incredibly beautiful with color explosions that can blow your mind.

While having a clear out in my office, I found some brochures for Bermuda that I had picked up at a Dive Show a few years ago.  One of the brochure covers had a photo with some really colorful corals and I decided to use the colors in the picture for one of my abstract paintings.

Acrylic on gessoed Paper - 4x6"

Acrylic on gessoed Paper – 4×6″

I didn’t want my painting to look like coral – I just wanted to use the same colors as in the photo.  Bearing in mind my issues with brushstrokes from my earlier attempts at abstract painting, I tried to loosen up a little bit.  I am thinking I might try this again, but on a larger canvas as it is challenging to be loose when working small – plus I just love all of the colors together.

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.