Re-using an Old Canvas

Standard

I had an old canvas lying around that I painted using different shades of purple.  I think I painted it a couple of years ago.  It really didn’t turn out the way I wanted it to (how that was supposed to be I really don’t know, but it didn’t) so I put it aside.  So, when I purchased Terry’s Top Tips for Acrylic Artists, by Terry Harrison, I thought I might resurrect this purple painting and try out Terry’s tip on rolling paint with a roller as the effect was very similar to what I already had painted.

The photo of Terry’s finished painting is on the cover of the book and is what I was working on, so I cannot claim this picture as really my own.  His is so much better anyway, but I thank Terry Harrison for the inspiration. 🙂

Acrylic on Canvas - A4

Acrylic on Canvas – A4

As I said, I already had a painting with loads of purple, so I had to add the blues, which I did with a pallet knife. I never used a roller.  I really didn’t take a huge amount of time with this, so I was not particular about the houses and boats.  I think this is a great idea for applying paint when doing a boat scene.  I might try something similar again, but from one of my own photographs next time.

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.