When things go Pear Shaped

Standard

In the interest of getting my abstract on, I wanted to try something a little bit different when painting a still life – something a little bit abstract, a little bit folky.  So this is what I came up with.

???????????????????????????????

Acrylic on Canvas - 20 x 20cm

Acrylic on Canvas – 20 x 20cm

All of this just came out of my head and I did not draw anything from life.  However, there was something bugging me about this and I realised that the composition was all wrong.  I should have either just used all apples or all pears or had the apple between the pears.  I tried painting out the apple with Titanium White and making a new pear, but I couldn’t get the colors right for the new pear.  I didn’t want to throw away the canvas, so I decided to try something different.

Still life with pears - Acrylic on Canvas - 20 x 20

Still life with pears – Mixed media on Canvas – 20 x 20

I used newsprint to cover 2 pears.  The wording on the newsprint is actually about food.  I added more paint to everything and finished off outlining with a sharpie.  I think I need a thicker sharpie for this type of thing.  Although not perfect, I think it is better than before and I will be more inclined to use collage in future works.  I might try this again, but will probably lose the pear at the top (definitely the shadow) and use collage in the middle of the painting and make the jugs bigger.  I really love the colors though.  This is where it really pays to make thumbprints before starting the painting but I got really excited and started without thinking things through! 🙂

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.