Inspiration from The Red Sea

Standard
Red Sea Squid - Acrylic on Canvas - 30x23cm

Red Sea Squid – Acrylic on Canvas – 30x23cm

I finally completed this painting that I started in 2012.  You can read about it here.  I was never happy with the background and didn’t know what to do with it, so I left it alone, until today.

IMG_6727

As you can see, the background definitely needed something.  I also completed another painting that I started in 2013, before I went traveling.  You know how you just have to be in the mood to do something?  Well, until today, I wasn’t in the mood to finish this painting, but I am happy with it now.

Red Sea Bannerfish - Acrylic on Canvas - 60x45cm

Red Sea Bannerfish – Acrylic on Canvas – 60x45cm

In fact, I had started a still life on this canvas that I wasn’t happy with, so I used a texture medium to cover up the old painting and start a new one.  As this was a large canvas, I didn’t want to waste it.  Both of these paintings were inspired by my diving photos of a trip I took to The Red Sea.  Looks like I might have another look at my diving photos and see what else I can paint!

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.