Watercolour Course for Beginners

Standard

Wet in Wet technique

The art class I wanted to take got cancelled and I was offered another class for half price.  The only class I could really take was the watercolour class, and fortunately there was  a space available.  The last time I attempted a watercolour class, we got as far as stretching paper, so I wasn’t expecting much on the first day.

Sometimes having low expectations pays off because we actually did have a go at painting something.

???????????????????????????????After a short chat about brushes and paint, we were asked to make up the paint.  We are only using 3 colours to work with.  We started by using the wet on wet technique, see the blob on the top left of the paper.  Apparently I had my mix at the correct consistency for the red to bleed into the yellow.

wet on wet

wet on wet

Then we were taught how to hold the brush for a dry brush technique, which is great for making water and simple trees.  For the second half of the lesson, we practiced the wet on wet technique with round shapes.  As half of the class had taken this course before, they were given a photo of a still life in a bowl to work on while the newbies worked on their technique.

close up of wet in wet

close up of wet in wet

I started at the bottom left of my paper starting with a yellow sphere and then adding red and some green.  The stems, shadows and splashes were added later to make the shapes look more like fruit.  Some look better than others. It’s skill that requires practice, but it was fun to watch the paint do it’s thing.  Considering this was our first lesson, it was good to come home with something to show for it.

In Lesson 2, we did this…

???????????????????????????????It may not look like much, but we made a colour wheel and mixed paint by using only three colours.  I found this harder to do with the water colour than with acrylic paint.  It was a good exercise to do though and just shows you how little you need of another colour to make a change.  The purpose of using only the primaries in our colour palette is to keep harmony in our painting.  While the beginners were working on our colour wheel, the more advanced students were working on a landscape with reflections.  We learned how to use wax to make highlights in the water and how the colour mixing we beginners were practicing was being applied into the landscape painting.  The tree technique we learned last week was also used.  Our instructor went back and forth between the two groups, so although we beginners may have been painting our colour wheel, we also learned a lot about how to paint a landscape with reflections, we just need to practice doing one.  The blue square shapes above were to demonstrate how using the same colour, in this case blue, on top of each other changes the tone.  This was done in a wet on dry technique and is great for using in landscapes and working with perspective.

I haven’t had a chance to practice what I’ve learned so far.  I mentioned previously that there are renovations going on at home, so my usual painting space has been compromised and is why I am taking an art class.  I will keep you updated with my progress.

Comments are closed.