Watercolor Class: Painting a landscape – with water

Standard

Watercolor painting does involve painting with water, but we painted a landscape, that had water in it.  Moving water to be precise.  Here is the reference photo we were working from.  It was painted by our tutor.

???????????????????????????????And below is what I completed in the two hours of the class.  This time the whole class worked on the same thing.

I find working on silhouettes tricky.  Especially churches and buildings, and trees!  After studying my finished work, I could probably add some more orange and yellow to the bottom of my painting to balance it out more.  The tutor liked my sky and the way I treated the water.  I barely used any wax in the water at all.  It was mostly dry brushing.

???????????????????????????????I am also very happy with my arches and my trees came out better than I thought they would.  Who knows?  I might get the hang of this watercolor painting lark one day! 🙂

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.