Teaching Myself Watercolor Painting

Although I am still taking the beginner’s class in watercolor painting, I have found some books in the charity shop and online that I want to use to help me with my painting.  The one that I am working from at the moment is called 30-Minute Landscapes by Paul Talbot-Greaves.  The title really appealed to me, as did the type of paintings to practice.  The techniques used are those already learned in my class.  Even though I am taking a class, books can often be helpful as an extra tool.

???????????????????????????????

Above is the first lesson in the book.  I can honestly say that it took me longer than 30 minutes to complete this painting.  It took about 20 to cut my paper and sketch out the drawing.  Then I had to wait for the masking medium to dry.  I also didn’t have a couple of the colors and had to use what was available.  I used Hookers Green instead of Sap Green and I used a grey I had already made up for class from the 3 primary colors instead of Payne’s Grey.  Here is my take on this painting.

???????????????????????????????I need to add some more blue to my flowers and lighten up one of my tree shadows.  I’m not used to working with masking fluid and will most likely need to be sparing with it next time.  At first I wasn’t too happy with this little painting but I mustn’t be too harsh on myself considering I am very new to using watercolor paint.  It is not a bad effort.  We can be our own worst critics.

Saying that, I have had two more classes since I painted this landscape this morning.  I am debating whether to post my recent classwork as I think they really are pants.  Two weeks ago we tried painting flowers and last week we did still life.  I can draw and paint a glass of wine, no problem – go figure that.  I find painting flowers and shells with watercolors difficult – drawing them is no problem.  If I had to paint them in acrylics, I would be ok with that.  I think the problem is using too much water during my class, even though my teacher says you can’t use too much.  I didn’t use nearly as much water for painting the above.  So, the key with getting good at anything is loads of practice (and finding the time) in order to learn how to manipulate the water and paint on the paper – and in time finding my own style.  Til next time.

