Watercolor Class – Painting trees

Art 20151We kind of went back to the beginning and painted trees.  I really need to work on my trunks.  However, to be fair, we didn’t have any reference photos to look at and just either tried to copy the teacher or paint what we thought of how tree trunks should look.

IMG_0049This is actually quite a small piece of paper.  I was running out of large sheets so I cut them in half to about 7×10″.  I have also been using the backs of work from class in order not to waste paper.  I haven’t created a masterpiece yet, so I am happy to use up what I have for now.  As you can see, my tree trunks need some work.  We used wet in wet and a dry brush technique.  My tree in the lower right corner is my favorite.  We also learned how to create bark effects by lifting off paint with the brush.  I am really happy with my log.  I was the only one in class to make one.

IMG_0046

These trees were made with sponges and are meant to be Autumn colors.  It’s a knack, one that I will hopefully acquire in time.

IMG_0045Here we created an abstract birch forest by scraping away paint with a credit card.  You have to be quick and do this before the paint dries.  My scrapings were not too great, so I added contrast with some grey I had made earlier.  I have seen a similar technique with acrylics.  This was the most fun thing we did in class.

I wasn’t going to show my still life paintings from the previous class, but since I have already left myself open to ridicule I might as well continue.

IMG_0047I happened to draw and paint the hardest thing in the class.  The conch shell’s colors were considerably muted in real life, but I wasn’t really trying to capture an exact replica.  I failed considerably with the inside of the shell and learned after the fact how I should have done it.  As they say, its all a learning curve.  My beach pebble is only marginally better, but I got the idea right.

IMG_0044Here is a quick study of a glass of wine.  I have no trouble painting or drawing glasses of wine.  This was easier to paint in watercolors than I thought it would be.  My teacher was particularly happy with this, especially as I captured the reflection of the wine in the shadow and  base of the glass.  So on that high note, Cheers!

