Playing with Clingfilm

Watercolor and Aquarelles on Paper - A4
Watercolor and Aquarelles on Paper – A4

This painting is a major fail for me, but I am learning something.  Firstly, my first layer was rubbish.  I tried using wet in dry and it just was not happening.  I had also tried to copy the photo which contained more leaves on the left.  I hadn’t paid attention to the composition.  So I left it for a week.  I thought I might start over and maybe do something on the back.  And then I thought I might be able to fix it.  I added some more more color to the flowers and deepened the background and managed to cover the leaves on the left.  My center did not turn out the way I wanted it.  I like the leaf and the bee.  I used some water color pencils and crayons.  Then I went mad with more blue paint, and while it was still wet, put some clingfilm on it.  When the paint was reasonably dry, I pulled the clingfilm off.  I then used a damp brush to tidy the flowers where the blue bled onto them and crayon to fix certain areas.  This is now rather vibrant, and large at A4.

I am not finished with sunflowers.  I really like this one I made a few weeks ago.  It is from the same photo, but upside down.

???????????????????????????????
Sunflower – Aquarelles on paper – 6 x 4″

I cannot for the life of me understand how I can follow a lesson almost perfectly, but when it comes to doing my own thing, the watercolors don’t work. I enjoyed the clingfilm experiment and I am going to have to try it again and find better ways of employing this technique.  Watercolors can be so difficult to work with sometimes!  I might have to paint something in acrylic just to feel good about painting something!

3 thoughts on “Playing with Clingfilm

  1. New beginnings aren’t always smooth and there’s no such thing as failure, only feedback. I like your attitude about moving on. Wet into wet is hard to do if you aren’t prepared for the effects that creates. Try to do some more research about wet into wet effects so you can know what you can and can’t do with that.

Comments are closed.