Landscape Lesson With Watercolor Pencils

Standard

Here is the reference painting for the lesson from Quick and Clever Watercolours.

IMG_1581

There was no line drawing to refer to, just this.  If I have a criticism with most art books, it is that they do not give you enough images, or the images are not large enough.  So, I pretty much had to wing this.  Here is my finished result.

IMG_1584

By the way, I taped down a 9×12″ sheet of paper and taped another strip in the middle to make two sections.  The bottom image is the one I completed first, according to the instructions in the book.  This is literally painted with watercolor pencils.  You just take the paint off the pencil with a wet brush and paint.  There was supposed to be a lot of wet in wet going on here, but it just wasn’t happening.  I read the instructions a couple of times before I started painting as sometimes you need to work quite quickly.  For the sky, I wet that section of the paper first in order to put the wash down even though that is not how the author does it.  That worked really well and I am very happy with my skies in both paintings.  I didn’t quite have the colors that the author used, so I pulled out 3 of my pencil sets and tried to match the colors as close as possible.   I’m not that happy with my trees, considering I spent time practicing them yesterday.

The top painting I did completely different, except for the sky.  Instead of taking the color off of the pencils and then putting them on the paper.  I colored the whole painting in.  I forgot to take a photo of that!  I then went in with a wet brush and wet each section. I started from top to bottom.  I washed the brush out before painting a different color.   I am happier with this painting than with the first one.  I like the pencils marks.  The first one looks too flat. I might go back into the first painting with pencils and make some marks to see if that makes it any better.  If anything, I learned that there is more than one way to paint a landscape painting with watercolor pencils. 🙂

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.