Finding My Way With Landscapes

Standard

After giving myself permission to paint loudly, (I can’t believe I did that! I’m a grownup and can do what I like!) I wanted to try painting from one of my own photographs.  Here is the reference photo I worked from.

Landscapes to Paint

The photos at the bottom are the original.  I cropped to zoom in to get the details and color.  Beautiful isn’t it?  This was a view on The Camino de Santiago.  Makes you want to walk it doesn’t it?  The sun was high and washed out a bit of color in the photo, but I remember how it was.  The sky was bright blue without a cloud, the rape fields were bright yellow, the wild lavender is really purple and the plowed fields had a beautiful red color to it.

Because my painting from yesterday had some runny bits I wasn’t happy with, I decided to paint on the back of it.  Yes, you can do that! There is no wrong side!  Anyway, the wild painting from yesterday was an exercise, as was this below.

IMG_1590

This was done on A4 paper.  I tried to use a method from Charles Evans’s book, but with more vibrant colors.  I just used watercolor pencils and inktense pencils for this.  It didn’t quite work the way I wanted and is still a bit blah.  I tried to capture too much detail.  So I worked on the back of another landscape I painted yesterday and did something completely different.

IMG_1591

This is on half an A4 piece of paper.  For this I used mainly artbars and Neoart watercolor crayons and sticks.  I also used a different sprayer.  I am much happier with this and have a few more ideas about painting this scene. I focused mainly on shapes and color and used what I remembered seeing rather than trying to capture every detail as in the photo.  At least I feel that I am getting somewhere now!

By the way, this is what the Neoart sticks look like. They are nice and chunky.   I forgot I had them! 🙂

IMG_1592

Comments are closed.