Light, Books, and a Painting

Tulip - A4 - Watercolor on Bockingford
Tulip – A4 – Watercolor on Bockingford

I finished it this afternoon. Basically, I needed to tidy it up. This is from Tulips in Watercolour (Ready to Paint) by Peart, Fiona (2012).  The drawings are already done for you on re-usable tracing paper in A3 format.  I am not ready to paint that large, so I scaled down this painting to one large tulip only onto A4 paper, freehand.  There are step by step instructions.  I don’t have all of the same colors, so I improvised.  I also used a bit of white gouache as I had some issues with paint staining the white I had masked out.  I think painting from books is a good way to learn when starting out – especially if you don’t have a clue as to what you are doing. You don’t have to follow the lessons slavishly so you can choose different colors if you want to.  Mine doesn’t look anything like the tutorial, but I like it.

That’s it from me for now.  Thanks for visiting. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Light, Books, and a Painting

    1. Arlene

      Thanks Cynthia, I wish I could take all of the credit, as I was working from a tutorial. It took me a few days to complete and make a few ‘fixes’ but I am really pleased with it. The lamp is great too. Nice to be able to see what you are doing!

Comments are closed.