Painting Tulips in Watercolor

I missed out on tulip season this year due to my walking in Spain.  I know I have some photo references somewhere, but until I find them, I have been working from a book,Tulips in Watercolour (Ready to Paint), by Fiona Peart.  The drawings are laid out in A3 size, but I went to the library and had them reduced to A4.  Then I traced them with a permanent marker onto tracing paper and was then able to transfer them to my A4 Bockingford paper.

Pink and White Tulips - A4 - Watercolor on Bockingford
Pink and White Tulips – A4 – Watercolor on Bockingford

My daughter chose this one as her birthday present.  The one below was done from full size, but I only drew half of it, added a background and used slightly different colors.

Tulips - A4 - Watercolor on Bockingford
Tulips – A4 – Watercolor on Bockingford

I am still trying to get the hang of the two methods of wet in wet technique.  Tulips are one of my favorite flowers and probably one of the easiest to paint and draw.  I’ll keep plowing on with tulips for awhile until I can do them in my sleep!

3 thoughts on “Painting Tulips in Watercolor

Comments are closed.