More Tulips

Tulips are one of my favorite flowers.  So I will be painting as many as I can, before they are all gone.

Here is my  latest and a bit of a departure for me.

IMG_2282-002

Tulips in a White Jug – A4 – Mixed Media on Bockingford

These tulips are on their way out.  They started off a lovely pinky-red shade and gradually got darker as they started to turn.  I love how the petals of tulips go in all different directions at this stage.  I used oil pastels to make the dots and water soluble crayon for the stamens.  I also scraped some water color pencil in the petals when they were wet.

Here is the reference photo I set up.

IMG_2277

I found two lovely scarves with similar colors and used them as a background.  I know they are really busy, but I tried to simplify the design for the painting.  I find painting backgrounds a challenge at the best of times.  I think this would also make a really good acrylic painting too.

