When a Watercolor Painting Fails

I hate throwing paper away no matter how many times I hear artists say ‘it’s only paper’!

I have been saving everything.  On my last post where I painted a stormy sky, it was on the back of one that failed.  There might be something good that I can cut out and use in a collage or a card – so I don’t throw paper out.  If it is really bad, I might use the scraps to try new things out or test colors.  I should have done that on my most recent painting.  All was going well until I added Alizarin Crimson to Daniel Smith’s Iridescent Electric Blue in my background.  The blue doesn’t like the red.  The red didn’t go anywhere, and it was wet on wet.  Here it is:

IMG_2444

Unfortunately my phone didn’t capture the background colors well, or you would see how iridescent the blue is and that the red really stands out.  Lesson: try out your colors on paper first to see how they react to each other.  This blue works best when added on top of other colors.

So, since I was quite despondent over this attempt at painting white lillies, I thought I just might give up painting in watercolor for a while and go back to painting in acrylics – because it is easier for me.  So I did this:

IMG_2448

I painted over my watercolor painting in acrylics.  I feel better now.  I am not giving up on watercolor painting, but I will be going back to acrylic painting (I really missed it) – it has been more than a year!

