Painting Myself Purple

Standard

This weekend I worked with the color Purple.  Purple is such a fickle color and finding the right one can be tricky.  I have some ready mixed ones that range from red tones to blue.  I think I might need to work on mixing them.  I hear French Ultramarine Blue is very good mixed with Alizarin Crimson.

img_3203Winter Landscape – Half A4 Bockingford – Winsor Violet and French Ultramarine Blue (W&N)

Working from a suggestion in the book, I painted the above landscape.  There is supposed to be a path at the bottom of the page, but it was too dark and didn’t work out, so I am thinkin of cropping it as above.  I might even add another line of trees under the sky to make a frozen lake in the middle.  The painting should have been more like the one below:

img_3199You should just about make out the shadows on the snow.  I will probably try this a few more times as I am still not sure about the bottom half of the painting.  I do like how the trees and sky turned out though.

img_3202Lavender – Half A4 Bockingford

I’m still getting to grips with working with wet on dry and then adding water.  These small sketches will make nice cards.

I know the painting below isn’t purple, but I worked with green a couple of weeks ago and made some backgrounds I really liked.  This one below was used to paint some rosemary.

img_3200Rosemary – Half A4 Bockingford

I’m not sure about this.  I really love the background, but not my rosemary. Practice, Practice, Practice. 🙂

 

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.