I Live by the Sea

Standard

This morning I had a wonderful walk on the beach with the dogs.  Unfortunately I don’t have any pics as my phone was on charge.   There were great clouds, the tide was out and the dogs went mad.  It was great.  I even managed to find some booty to use in future paintings.

img_3231Beach Booty drying out

I love living by the sea.  When I moved down to the south coast of England from London, I never would have imagined how much my life would change.  This is where I started to  paint.  One would think that since I love the sea so much I would actually paint it!  Heh!  There are loads of reasons why I haven’t, but none worth writing about.  Anyhow, I painted a seascape today.

img_3233

Seascape – Acrylic on Canvas – A4 size
I decided to go back to acrylics for awhile and had prepared some canvases I bought ages ago.  I went straight onto the white canvas with sand textured gel and glass bead gel for the beach part and then used a soft gel for the rest.  I used ultramarine blue, phthalo blue (green hue), yellow ochre, burnt sienna and titanium white.  I used two brushes and a palette knife.  I want to use the knife more and have more texture in my paintings.  I even used my fingers.
I have put away my watercolors for the time being.  I have been staring at an old acrylic painting I did ages ago and wanted to make it better.  So I will be working on some smaller pieces and trying out different grounds before I make another mark on it.  I have all of this stuff, so I might as well use it!

 

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.