Land and Sea

Standard

WordPress went a bit funny on me and didn’t publish this on Saturday, so here goes.

I finally have had a little time to paint.  I went a bit mad on Black Friday and ordered a bunch of art books and painting supplies.  I also made a decision. Although I haven’t completely hung up my hat on painting in watercolours, I have put all of my WC supplies away and have hauled out my acrylics.  Acrylics are more forgiving than watercolors and I need to be gentle with myself right now and do the things with acrylic paint that I can’t really do with watercolors (or don’t know how).  Even though I was painting myself calm with watercolors, I needed something more.  Besides, I have hardly touched my acrylic paints in over a year, and I missed them.

So, here is what I did Saturday:

img_3249Land and Sky – Acrylic on Paper – 8×8 inches

img_3255

I can see Land – Mixed Media on Paper – 8×8 inches

I have been reading up on different techniques and watching youtube videos about doing the things I really like and wanted to do myself.  Here are two I made yesterday without really knowing the outcome.  I used gesso as a base –  for some texture and so the paper didn’t wouldn’t soak up all the paint.  I also started two new canvases and am re-working an old one.  I also used some of my new paint.  I bought the Golden muted set of 5 colors.  The paint is fluid, something new for me.  I also used a medium to help spread the paint around and which makes the finish have a sheen.  I also used my fingers a lot!  In the blue painting, I added some Sennelier oil pastels.  No point in letting them just sit around.

Happy painting people!

About Arlene

Arlene Toth is all about new beginnings and trying new things. There is so much to see and do in the world and she wants to do as much as she can while she still has her health and the time to do it.

Comments are closed.