A Small Landscape

Standard

img_3274Landscape – Mixed Media on A4 Canvas

I have been trying to work a bit more abstractly and also more intuitively.  I had a few small canvases in my cupboard and decided to try out a few things I have either read about or watched on a video.  With the painting above, I applied gesso to the canvas, then used some cling film for texture, and added more gesso for my hills.

The colors I used were Phthalo Blue, Burnt Umber, Burnt Sienna, Raw Sienna and Titanium White with some gloss medium.  Some of the paint was wiped off and re-painted.  There are a few layers here, but I still wasn’t satisfied, so I got out some of my oil pastels and went over some areas to bring out the texture and give it more color and definition.  I’m happy now!

Here is a close-up of some of the texture:

img_3280

Comments are closed.