Cattails

Standard

img_3360Cattails – Mixed Media on Paper – 4 x 8 inches

I had cattails in my head when I woke up this morning.  Crazy, I know.  So I had to paint some.

I don’t like to paint with acrylics straight onto paper as the paper sucks up too much paint.  I always put a layer of gesso on first, hence the mixed media on paper thing.  I am currently using up my stash of Bockingford as I have put my watercolors to one side for a while.  Right now, I am all about texture, layering and trying to paint a bit of nature.  Painting with a limited pallet is also helpful.  For this painting I used W&N Ultramarine Blue, Payne’s Grey, Burnt Umber, Raw Sienna, Golden Yellow Ochre heavy body, Liquitex Muted Turquoise soft body, and a glazing medium.  I used a credit card for the grasses.

I’m going to see if I can squeeze a few more small paintings in before the end of 2016!

2 responses