On the Way to Santiago

IMG_3714
From Leon to Villa de Mazarife – Mixed Media on Canvas Board – 10×12 inches

A couple of years ago my husband and I walked the Camino de Santiago from St John Pied de Port in France to Santiago de Compostela in Spain, over 750 kilometers.  We did it in six weeks (that included 7 rest days).  It was springtime and I managed to take many photos of flowers and fields over the course of our journey.  This field has been stuck in my mind since then.

I have been trying to work out how to paint this view ever since I first saw it.  Firstly, this was taken with an i phone, so the quality is not that great.  The fields on the right side of the track were yellow, green and orange.  The fields on the right were orange, green and lavender.  The lavender was just growing wild.  It was quite a site to see while walking in the mid-day heat.

At first, I was going to try and paint it in the style of my Hayfield in Normandy.  When I finished painting the sky, I wasn’t happy with it.  Then my new book arrived in the post!  I had ordered Acrylic Expressions by Staci Swider.  I really like her style, along with Chris Cozen and others.   The book is quite informative on how to paint intuitively, but also with a purpose.  I had a quick read through and got a couple of ideas on how to make my painting.  I had already scraped lines for my fields in the gesso, so I outlined them in red and took it from there.  The finished result is what you see at the top of the page.  It is rather vibrant, but that is how I saw it in my mind.

 

