Re-visiting Unsatisfactory Gelli Prints

 

While scanning all of my prints (it took ages), I found out on the internet that there is more than one brand of gel plate that you can buy for printing.  I was in the market for the cheapest 6×6 plate and that is how I found out.  I love Google!  I have the links listed in my sidebar.  There is GelliArts (registered), Speedball, and Gel Press (they say they are the original).  There may be more, but I didn’t see any others so far.  They all have web pages and YouTube videos.  Speedball is more of a traditional printing company as they have been making ink for years.  I might have to try out the inks they recommend.  So, now you know there is more than one.  Some people seem to be better at marketing than others.  As the plates are expensive, it is wise to shop around.

As excited as I was the last time I did some gelli printing, some didn’t turn out quite how I expected them to.   So, I put them aside as I didn’t know what to do with them.  I took them all out again the other day and decided to be more thoughtful with my process.  One of the things I learned from all of the helpful people who are really into the gel printing thing is that even unsuccessful prints can be worked over or just used as a background for another piece of work.

I picked a few stencils and some embossed paper (wallpaper, etc.) and some mark making tools such as stamps and other textured items.  Oh, and some soft body paint.

 

 

The images above were made by stamping fabric stamps onto the painted plate.  The fabric stamps are not very good for general stamping, but they work really well on the gelli plate.  I also used some iridescent blue paint, but unfortunately you can’t see the shimmer in the photo.

These images were made with cheap (£1) papers I bought at The Range.  These images were printed on parchment paper and is most likely why you can see the original image in my scan.  However, they are not as noticeable on the original paper.

This is where I got a bit hooked on using the embossed wallpaper, or Anaglypta as they call it here in the UK.  White paint is really good to use over a dark background.  Sometimes the original paint on my paper would lift off onto the printing plate and is why there are some gaps.

I used stencils on these. as well as some embossing material.  Although the blue one in the middle on top doesn’t look like much, it is actually better in person as it has shimmery blue paint on it.  Some of my scans are more intense that the originals.

When I was scanning the above on the left, I noticed that the original leaves were showing through the back, so I scanned that too!

GEL024-001

For this last one, I brayered orange paint on the plate and used an icing tool to emboss some leaves.

So, that is some of what you can do with prints you are not happy with.  Basically, I just covered them up! 🙂  They may not be wonderful works of art in their own right, but I feel better about using them in something else as I really like the colors now.  Also, I have the scans that I can manipulate and use over again if I want to.

Happy printing!

Leave a Reply

